Creamy Mandarin sesame ginger dressing. (oil free, salt free, raw vegan)

creamy raw vegan citrus cashew dressing low fat oil free salt free

Today is day 7/21 of the low-fat raw vegan challenge I’m participating in.  Its been pretty easy so far, not even one craving until today actually!  For some reason I’ve been dreaming of sushi and ramen and pizza and pho [all vegan of course] all day.  But, I digress.

The main 2 challenges I have experienced thus far have been: (1) Not being able to get as creative or varied in the kitchen.  I LOVE cooking, baking, presentation, and eating food.  I love seeing food in restaurants, magazines, online, or on Instagram and then recreating it at home.  Its been hard being so limited with dinner, and cooking a seperate dinner for my 5 year old.  (2) The amount of time involved in eating this way.  Planning how much food I will need, buying all the food, preparing the meals, and just the sheer volume of eating has been tough, especially with the kids.  My salad at night (I split 3 HUGE heads of lettuce with my husband) takes me about an hour to eat….but at least I have found this great recipe (adapted from Low Fat Raw Vegan Chef) for dressing that makes it enjoyable.  I posted about it a few weeks ago on Instagram but never got around to blogging about it.  This dressing is technically not great food combining (acid+sweet fruit=no no, also fruit+fat is generally a no too) but its delicious and makes eating a pound and a half of greens enjoyable.  Baby steps, right?

Creamy mandarin sesame ginger dressing. (yields about 2c)

1/3 c raw cashews, soaked for a few hours and then drained

3/4c fresh squeezed mandarin, tangerine, or orange juice

3 medjool dates, pitted

1 small pinky of ginger (add more if you desire)

1T raw sesame tahini, or 2T of raw sesame seeds

Blend all ingredients in a high-speed blender.  If you have a regular blender, I recommend soaking the cashews overnight and soaking the dates for an hour, as well as finely mincing the ginger with a knife before adding it to the blender to ensure smooth creamy results.

I’ve been loving this combo with romaine lettuce, red bell pepper, carrot, cucumber, and jicama.  Crunchy and savory.  Yum!

Personally, I have not felt too many differences during this week of 80/10/10 low-fat raw vegan than my normal diet of fruit for breakfast, mostly raw for lunch, and a cooked vegan meal for dinner.  I probably will not continue to eat 100% low-fat raw vegan after this challenge as it is: expensive, time-consuming, and makes me think about food all the time (ie inputting what I ate into Cronometer and weighing stuff to make sure I’m getting enough calories).  I don’t know…thinking so much about food seems counterintuitive to me.  Mostly I listen to my body and decide what to eat based on that, which works well for me!  Nothing against the diet itself, I think its great and applaud the people who are successfully following it.  It’s just not fully compatible with my life at this point in time…just food for thought.

7 thoughts on “Creamy Mandarin sesame ginger dressing. (oil free, salt free, raw vegan)”

  1. I agree w/ your feelings on raw vegan. I do try to eat raw as much as I can but it’s difficult to consume so much food each meal & it can def be time consuming etc. Anyway glad you started a blog! Looking forward to future posts.

    1. Totally! It is hard. I do it as often as I can too because I know my body is happiest with raw! But life is about balance. Thanks for the love!

  2. I just made this dressing, and WOW, it is delicious! I am a raw vegan, and have been for 20+ years. I would agree that it takes some getting used to, but it is totally worth it in the end. My husband and 4 children are high-raw vegans. We just started eating without oil and salt and it has been quite difficult for them (not me). I have a HUGE kale, romaine lettuce and red leaf lettuce which I plan to dress with your gorgeous dressing. I think my kids and hubby will love it. Thank you kindly for sharing! Check me out at: raw4ever.com

Leave a Reply

