Simple kale fried rice.

kale fried rice

I love kale.  Its probably my favorite winter green.  Something about it is very comforting, very grounding.  I have a hard time digesting it raw, so I usually cook it lightly and it tastes so delicious.  My kids, on the other hand, will only really eat greens in smoothie form and mild spinach is their favorite.  Im not complaining- my kids are very adventurous eaters- but I would like to get a little variety in them now and then.  Its so beneficial to rotate your greens to avoid a buildup of anti-nutrients and to get a wide variety of nutrients.  Kale is something I grow every fall/winter and it is forgiving of a black thumb!  You can even grow it in a pot.  Also, kale is an amazing, inexpensive nutritional powerhouse that has a pretty mild taste when cooked- unlike, ahem- swiss chard, my most hated green.

This very simple, loose “recipe” is so delicious and will easily adapt to whatever you have around.  This is the only way I can get the kids and husband to eat kale.  Try it at your house and see how it goes over!

kale fried rice.

1 large head of kale, stems removed (I prefer smooth dinosaur kale but use whatever type you like)

leftover brown rice (crucial- freshly cooked rice will NOT be the same)

2 cloves garlic, minced (mince and let sit for 10 minutes to increase allicin, a protective compound in garlic)

1/4c minced onion or shallot

3T coconut oil

2 green onions, sliced thinly on the diagonal

Tamari or soy sauce or coconut aminos– adjust amount to your liking.  I probably used about 1/8c.

Sesame oil, a tablespoon or two

Sesame seeds, for sprinkling on top

Optional add ins: minced carrot, edamame, frozen peas, chopped green beans, minced broccoli, beans sprouts, cilantro- whatever veggies you/your kids love!  Just make sure any veggies are chopped small so that they will cook in time.

First, chiffonade your kale- the thinner the better.  The best way to do this is to stack all the leaves on top of one another, loosely roll them up, and slice very thinly across.

Heat up the coconut oil over medium heat, add the onions or shallots, saute for a few minutes until they are translucent, and then add the garlic.  Stir and saute for about 30 seconds or so until garlic is fragrant- take care not to burn/brown it or it will be bitter.

Add in the cold brown rice and stir it all up.  Turn up the heat to medium high and let cook without stirring for about 3 minutes.  You want the rice to crisp up a bit but not burn.  Stir the rice, then pile the kale (and any optional veggies youre adding) on top and let cook for another 3 minutes without stirring.  Add in the soy sauce, sesame oil, and green onions and stir well.  Let cook, stirring every minute until the kale/veggies are softened to your liking (I did about 2 minutes but feel free to cook more)  Let cool slightly, spoon into bowls, and top with a sprinkling of sesame seeds.

Note: This keeps and reheats very well so feel free to make a large batch for the week!

*A quick note:  I have a seemingly endless line of things demanding my attention in this current time of my life.  However, I love the blog and will continue to update it as much as possible.  I am shooting for once a week posts on Monday night, maybe more.  I have a few posts I want to do about natural healing and remedies I have been experimenting with.  Please bear with me as I adjust.  Thank you for reading!  I appreciate all of you.

Much Love,

A.

kale

Leave a Reply

